National Day of Uzbekistan

national dayThe National Day of Uzbekistan is on the 1st September (Independence Day, declaration of independence from the Soviet Union 1991). Note that we have listed the public holidays for the country below. It is also known as Independence Day and marks the country’s declaration of independence from the Soviet Union in 1991.

National Day of Uzbekistan

Note that there are a number of embassies in Uzbekistan. The Thai Embassy in Uzbekistan is listed here and the US Embassy listed here. Note their public holidays would include holidays from their respective countries as well. note that there is also a British Embassy in Uzbekistan.

The independence process of Uzbekistan started in 1990 when the Soviet Union started to collapse. Then on the 31st August 1991 the Supreme Soviet of Uzbekistan adopted a resolution. Likewise declaring the country’s independence from the Soviet Union. This was later accepted by referendum which was held on the 29th December. Then 98% of the voters supported independence.

However, under President Islam Karimov. Uzbekistan made significant progress in building a sovereign state. The government started economic reforms. This including the free market prices, the turning state-owned enterprises into the private sector. They also introduced a national currency. The country also developed its own foreign policy, establishing diplomatic relations with many countries around the world.

Likewise today, the National Day of Uzbekistan is celebrated as a symbol of the their independence and sovereignty, as well as its achievements in building a modern state.

Likewise see the National Day of Russia as well as the National Day of Uzbekistan and the National Day of Lithuania.

See also  National Day of Jamaica

Public Holidays in Uzbekistan

Here are the public holidays in Uzbekistan:

  1. New Year’s Day – January 1
  2. Day of Defenders of the Motherland – January 14-15
  3. Women’s Day – March 8
  4. Navruz (Persian New Year) – March 21-22
  5. Memorial Day – May 9
  6. Eid al-Fitr (End of Ramadan) – dates vary according to the Islamic calendar
  7. Independence Day – September 1
  8. Eid al-Adha (Feast of Sacrifice) – dates vary according to the Islamic calendar
  9. Constitution Day – December 8

Note that the dates of the holidays that are based on the Islamic calendar.




Incoming search terms: