National Day of Indonesia

national dayThe National Day of Indonesia is on the 17 August (Proclamation of Independence day, (Hari Proklamasi Kemerdekaan R.I.), from Japan 1945). The national day is also known as Hari Kemerdekaan, which means “Independence Day” in Indonesian. This day marks Indonesia’s declaration of independence from the Netherlands on August 17th, 1945.

National Day of Indonesia

The declaration of independence was read out by Indonesia’s founding father, Sukarno, and marked the start of a long and difficult struggle for the young nation. The struggle for independence included a four-year war of independence against the Dutch, which resulted in Indonesia finally gaining its sovereignty in 1949.

Sukarno was the first president of Indonesia.  He played a crucial role in declaring and establishing Indonesian independence from the Dutch. There was also Mohammad Hatta who was Indonesia’s first vice president and co-founder of the Indonesian independence movement. Also Tjut Nyak Dien who was a guerrilla fighter from Aceh who led her troops in battles against the Dutch.

Indonesia much like other countries have their heros who rose to independence. See also the National Day of Japan as well as the National Day of South Korea. There is also the National Day of China.

Public Holidays in Indonesia

Here is a list of some of the most important public holidays in Indonesia:

  • New Year’s Day – January 1st
  • Chinese New Year – varies between late January and mid-February
  • Good Friday – varies every year
  • Labor Day – May 1st
  • Waisak Day (Buddha’s Birthday) – varies every year
  • Ascension Day of Jesus Christ – varies every year
  • Eid al-Fitr (End of Ramadan) – varies every year
  • Independence Day – August 17th
  • Islamic New Year – varies every year
  • Christmas Day – December 25th
See also  National Day of Gambia


In addition to these national holidays, there are also regional holidays. See also the National Day of East Timor on here.



Incoming search terms: