National Day of Spain

national dayThe National Day of Spain is on the 12 October (Fiesta Nacional de España, Columbus discovery of America 1492). The holiday is widely celebrated in Spain and the Spanish community abroad. Below are the public holidays and other holidays in Spain.

National Day of Spain

Accordingly the National Day of Spain which is also known as Hispanic Day or Dia de la Hispanidad. Basically this is celebrated annually on the 12th October. This is to commemorate the day in 1492 when Christopher Columbus first set foot in the Americas. Consequently this event which marked the beginning of a period of significant cultural exchange between the Old World and the New World.

The day is marked by military parades, cultural events, and public celebrations across Spain, with the largest celebrations taking place in Madrid. The Spanish royal family also participates in the festivities, attending a military parade and other official events.

Finally while the day has historical significance for Spain. It is also celebrated by many other countries in the Americas, particularly those with a significant Spanish-speaking population. In some countries, the day is known as Columbus Day or Dia de la Raza, and is celebrated as a day of cultural pride and unity.

Public Holidays in Spain

Firstly here is a list of public holidays in Spain:

  • New Year’s Day – January 1
  • Epiphany – January 6
  • Good Friday – date varies each year according to the Christian calendar
  • Easter Monday – date varies each year according to the Christian calendar
  • Labor Day – May 1
  • Assumption Day – August 15
  • National Day – October 12
  • All Saints’ Day – November 1
  • Constitution Day – December 6
  • Immaculate Conception – December 8
  • Christmas Day – December 25
See also  National Day of Bahrain

Basically in addition to these national holidays, there are also regional holidays.

Incoming search terms: