National Day of Nepal

national day

Nepal’s National Day is celebrated on the 20th September which is known as Constitution Day or Samvidhan Diwas. The 18th February is however an important day for Nepal. This is what they call National Democracy Day. This is to commemorate the end of the autocratic Rana regime in 1951.

National Day of Nepal

Firstly you see that the National Day of Nepal is also called “Constitution Day” or “Samvidhan Diwas” in Nepali. This is is celebrated yearly on the 20th September. This is to celebrate the new constitution of Nepal from 2015. This one replaced the older one which was an interim constitution of 2007. That constitution made Nepal a federal democratic republic.As you can see on the list of public holidays is Constitution Day which is a national holiday in Nepal. You can also see the national days of bangladesh as well as the Argentina national day.


Nepal Public Holidays

Firstly here is a list of public holidays in Nepal:

  1. New Year’s Day – January 1st
  2. Maghe Sankranti – January 14th
  3. Martyrs’ Day – February 18th
  4. Democracy Day – Falgun 7th (February/March, date varies)
  5. International Women’s Day – March 8th
  6. Ghode Jatra – Chaitra 12th (March/April, date varies)
  7. Nepali New Year’s Day – Baisakh 1st (April 13th or 14th, date varies)
  8. May Day/Labor Day – May 1st
  9. Buddha Jayanti – Baisakh 15th (May, date varies)
  10. Eid al-Fitr – Shawwal 1st (May/June, date varies)
  11. Constitution Day – September 20th
  12. Dashain – Ashwin 7th to 10th (September/October, date varies)
  13. Tihar – Kartik 12th to 16th (October/November, date varies)
  14. Christmas Day – December 25th
See also  National Day of Kiribati


Finally note that some holidays are celebrated based on the lunar calendar. See also the National Day of Myanmar as well as the National Day of New Zealand and the National Day of Pakistan.



Incoming search terms: