National Day of Russia

national dayThe National Day of Russia is on the 12th June – Russia Day, declaration of sovereignty in 1990, (law priority over Soviet Union laws). Russia Day is the National Day of Russia. Basically is was explained above. This holiday celebrates the adoption of the Declaration of State Sovereignty of the Russian Federation on June 12, 1990.

National Day of Russia

Firstly as you know the Soviet Union was a federation of republics. This with Russia being the largest and most powerful republic. In 1989, the Soviet government began to introduce political reforms. Following on in 1990, the Russian Federation passed the Declaration of State Sovereignty. This declared that Russia was a sovereign state with full authority to govern itself.

The declaration was passed by the Russian Supreme Soviet, which was the country’s highest legislative body at the time. The process of Russia’s transition to an independent state was complex and involved many political, economic, and social changes. However the Declaration of State Sovereignty was a key moment in this process, as it signaled Russia’s determination to govern itself and assert its own authority.

Likewise see the National Day of Uzbekistan as well as the National Day of Lithuania and National Day of Georgia.

Public Holidays in Russia

Certainly there are several public holidays in Russia, including:

  • New Year’s Day (January 1)
  • Orthodox Christmas Day (January 7)
  • Defender of the Fatherland Day (February 23)
  • International Women’s Day (March 8)
  • Spring and Labor Day (May 1-2)
  • Victory Day (May 9)
  • Russia Day (June 12)
  • Unity Day (November 4)
See also  Austria National Day

Basically its important to note that some of these holidays may be observed on a different day.



Incoming search terms: