Firstly these are the National Days for countries in South America. See when each country in Latin American celebrates their independence.

South America is a continent consisting of 12 countries, each with its own unique culture and history. Finally here are the national days celebrated in each country of South America:

Argentina – May 25th: Revolution Day, commemorating the start of the Argentine War of Independence.

Bolivia – August 6th: Independence Day, celebrating Bolivia’s independence from Spain in 1825.

Brazil – September 7th: Independence Day, marking Brazil’s declaration of independence from Portugal in 1822.

Chile – September 18th: National Day, celebrating Chile’s independence from Spain in 1810.

Colombia – July 20th: Independence Day, commemorating the start of the Colombian War of Independence in 1810.

Ecuador – August 10th: Independence Day, marking Ecuador’s declaration of independence from Spain in 1809.

Guyana – February 23rd: Republic Day, celebrating the country’s transition from  British colony to republic in 1970.

Paraguay – May 15th: Independence Day, marking Paraguay’s declaration of independence from Spain in 1811.

Peru – July 28th: Independence Day, commemorating Peru’s declaration of independence from Spain in 1821.

Suriname – November 25th: Independence Day, marking Suriname’s independence from the Netherlands in 1975.

Uruguay – August 25th: Independence Day, celebrating Uruguay’s declaration of independence from Brazil in 1825.

Venezuela – July 5th: Independence Day, celebrating Venezuela’s declaration of independence from Spain in 1811.

Firstly these countries are not all free. Secondly you will not that Guyana is still French. Finally these national days are celebrated with parades and fireworks.

National Day of Paraguay

national day

The National Day of Paraguay is on 15th May. It marks the country’s independence from Spanish colonial rule in 1811. Paraguay’s independence process began in 1810. This following the May Revolution in Buenos Aires and you can see this in the national day celebrations in South America.

Continue reading National Day of Paraguay

National Day of Guyana

national dayThe National Day of Guyana is on the 26th May (Independence day) and on the 23rd February (Republic Day). This commemorates their independence from the United Kingdom in 1966. It is a public holiday in Guyana and you can see the list of public holidays below as well. The history of their national day or independence day is explained below. Continue reading National Day of Guyana

National Day of Venezuela

The National Day of Venezuela or Venezuela’s Independence Day is celebrated on the July 5th each year. This day marks when the country declared its independence from Spain in 1811. Now in this day, the people of Venezuela remember as well as honor the heroes of the struggle for independence. Those who fought for their freedom which includes leaders such as Simón Bolívar as well as Francisco de Miranda.

Continue reading National Day of Venezuela

Incoming search terms: