National Day of Ecuador

national dayThe National Day of Ecuador is on the 10 August (Proclamation of independence from Spain 1809). The “La Década de la Independencia” (The Decade of Independence) and commemorates Ecuador’s independence from Spain, which occurred on August 10th, 1809. So the 27th September is their national day. See also the brief history about the national day.

National Day of Ecuador

The process started in 1809 when a group of indigenous and creole leaders in Quito. They had formed a society called the “Junta Soberana” (Sovereign Council). The aim of the council was to overthrow Spanish rule. So on the 10th August they declared independence from Spain. They then started a provisional government but is was suppressed by Spanish forces.

Even though this did not stand it kept growing. In 1822 the armies of Simón Bolívar, the famous Venezuelan revolutionary leader, liberated Quito from Spanish control. You will see that Simón Bolívar (National Day of Venezuela) was instrumental in their independence of Ecuador. They established the Republic of Gran Colombia, which included Ecuador, Colombia (National Day of Colombia), and Venezuela.

Notable people had been Juan Pío Montúfar, a creole nobleman who was a leader of the Junta Soberana. There was also Antonio José de Sucre, a close ally of Simón Bolívar who played a key role in the liberation of Ecuador. Many of the South American countries are linked to struggle against the Spanish Empire.

You can also see the National Day of Uruguay as well as the Argentina National Day and the National Day of Nicaragua.

See also  Anguilla National Day

Public Holidays in Ecuador

Here are the public holidays in Ecuador:

  • New Year’s Day – January 1st
  • Carnival – A two-day holiday, usually falling in February or March
  • Good Friday – Varies according to the lunar calendar
  • Labor Day – May 1st
  • Battle of Pichincha – May 24th, which celebrates the victory of Ecuadorian forces over the Spanish in 1822
  • Independence Day – August 10th, which commemorates Ecuador’s declaration of independence from Spain in 1809
  • National Day of Ecuador – September 27th, which celebrates the independence of Ecuador from Spain in 1821
  • All Souls’ Day – November 2nd
  • Christmas Day – December 25th

Note that some of these holidays, such as Carnival and Good Friday, are observed regionally.



Incoming search terms: