National Day of Croatia

national dayThe National Day of Croatia is on the 25th June (Statehood Day, declaration of independence from Yugoslavia 1991). This day is also known as Statehood Day or Dan državnosti in Croatian. Likewise this declaration of independence from Yugoslavia on the 25th June 1991 is celebrated.

National Day of Croatia

So in 1990 Croatia held its first democratic elections since World War II. This was when the Croatian Democratic Union (HDZ) won a majority in the parliament. The HDZ was led by Franjo Tuđman, who became the country’s first president. As Croatia began to assert its independence. Likewise this is when tensions rose with Yugoslavia, which was under the leadership of Slobodan Milošević. He and other leaders in Serbia believed that Croatia’s secession would threaten Yugoslavia’s unity, and they began to take steps to prevent it.

Likewise in June 1991 the Croatian parliament voted to declare independence from Yugoslavia. However, Yugoslavia did not recognize the legitimacy of this decision and sent troops into Croatia to try to maintain control. The conflict escalated into a full-scale war, with both sides engaging in violence and atrocities against civilians. The war lasted for four years and resulted in the deaths of over 20,000 people.

Finally, in 1995, the Croatian military, with the support of NATO, was able to retake much of the territory that had been occupied by Serb forces. Likewise see also the National Day of Slovenia as well as the National Day of Macedonia as well.


See also  National Day of Mauritius

Public Holidays in Croatia

Here are the public holidays in Croatia:

  • New Year’s Day – January 1
  • Epiphany – January 6
  • Easter Sunday – variable date
  • Easter Monday – variable date
  • Labor Day – May 1
  • Corpus Christi – variable date (usually in May or June)
  • Anti-Fascist Resistance Day – June 22
  • Statehood Day/National Day – June 25
  • Victory and Homeland Thanksgiving Day and the Day of Croatian Defenders – August 5
  • Assumption of Mary – August 15
  • Independence Day – October 8
  • All Saints’ Day – November 1
  • Christmas Day – December 25
  • St. Stephen’s Day – December 26

These are the 14 national holidays in Croatia, and they are all non-working days for the majority of the population. Likewise also see the National Day of Cyprus on here.



Incoming search terms: