National Day of UAE

national dayThe National Day of the UAE or the National Day of the United Arab Emirates is on the 2 December (National Day, formation of federation of seven Emirates and independence from the United Kingdom 1971). See the history of the national day of the United Arab Emirates.

National Day of UAE

The brief history on the process leading to the independence of the UAE starts in the 1950s and 1960s. This was when a number of emirates in the region began to seek greater autonomy from Britain. At this point in time Britain controlled the emirates as a protectorate. Then in 1968, Britain announced that it would withdraw from the region by 1971. This paved the way for the independence of the emirates.

Then in 1971 there were six of the emirates – Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Sharjah, Ajman, Umm Al Quwain, and Fujairah – agreed to form a federation. This with Ras Al Khaimah joining a few months later. On December 2nd of that year, the UAE was officially formed, with Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan as its first President.

The UAE’s constitution, which was adopted on December 2nd, 1971, outlines the country’s federal structure, with powers divided between the federal government and individual emirates. The constitution also guarantees a number of fundamental rights and freedoms, including freedom of religion, freedom of expression, and the right to a fair trial.

See also the National Day of Afghanistan as well as the National Day of Saudi Arabia.

Public Holidays in the Emirates

Here are some of the major public holidays in the UAE:

  • New Year’s Day (January 1st)
  • Eid Al Fitr (end of Ramadan, dates vary each year)
  • Arafat Day (9th day of the Islamic month of Dhu Al Hijjah, dates vary each year)
  • Eid Al Adha (feast of sacrifice, dates vary each year)
  • Hijri New Year (Islamic New Year, dates vary each year)
  • Prophet Muhammad’s Birthday (birth of the Prophet, dates vary each year)
  • National Day (December 2nd)
See also  National Day of Vietnam

In addition to these holidays, there are also observance of other religious holidays, such as Christmas or Diwali,



Incoming search terms: