National Day of Swaziland

national dayThe National Day of Swaziland 6th September (Independence Day, from the United Kingdom 1968). On Independence Day in 1968 Swaziland became self-governing after it had been ruled by Britain since 1903. The public holidays for Swaziland has been added below.

National Day of Swaziland

Likewise note that Swaziland is now known as Eswatini. Firstly they have had a name change so now it is the National Day of Eswatini. Secondly their Independence Day is celebrated on the 6th September annually. It celebrates the country’s independence from British rule on the 6th September 1968. The day is marked by various celebrations and events, including parades, cultural performances, and flag-raising ceremonies. Finally it is a public holiday in Eswatini, and many businesses and government offices are closed.

Public Holiday in Swaziland

Firstly here are some of the public holidays in Eswatini:

  • New Year’s Day – January 1
  • The King’s Birthday – April 19
  • Good Friday – The Friday before Easter Sunday
  • Easter Monday – The day after Easter Sunday
  • National Flag Day – April 25
  • Labour Day – May 1
  • Ascension Day – 39 days after Easter Sunday
  • Umhlanga or Reed Dance – A date set by the King (usually August/September)
  • Independence Day – September 6
  • Christmas Day – December 25
  • Boxing Day – December 26


Likewise please note that some holidays, such as Umhlanga or Reed Dance, may not have a fixed date

See also  Andorra National Day