National Day of Belarus

national dayThe National Day of Belarus is 3rd July (Independence Day, liberation of Minsk from German occupation by Soviet troops in 1944). This day is known as the Independence Day of the Republic of Belarus. This marks the declaration of independence from the Soviet Union in 1990.

National Day of Belarus

Likewise you will know that the declaration of independence was adopted by the Supreme Soviet of Belarus on the 27th July 1990. This in the end was recognized officially by the then Soviet Union on the 25th August 1991. It was however not the fully story as the Belarusian government decided themselves to celebrate Independence Day on the July 3rd. This was to celebrate the anniversary of the liberation of Minsk from Nazi occupation during World War II.

See also the National Day of Kyrgyzstan as well as the National Day of Latvia and the National Day of Russia.

Public Holidays in Belarus 

Here’s a list of public holidays in Belarus:

  • New Year’s Day – January 1
  • Orthodox Christmas – January 7
  • Defender of the Fatherland Day – February 23
  • International Women’s Day – March 8
  • Day of Unity of the Peoples of Belarus and Russia – April 2
  • Orthodox Easter – variable date (usually in April)
  • Labor Day – May 1-2
  • Victory Day – May 9
  • Independence Day – July 3
  • Independence Day (additional day) – July 6
  • October Revolution Day – November 7
  • Christmas Day – December 25

Note that some holidays, such as Orthodox Easter and Christmas. See also the public holidays in Tasmania as well as the NSW public holidays.

See also  National Day of Montenegro



Incoming search terms: