NSW Public Holidays

national dayThese are a list of the NSW Public Holidays in Australia. Check with your local government if you are not certain about the holidays in New South Wales. Should there be any updates we will accordingly change these public holiday calendar.

NSW Public Holidays

Holidays for NSW under the Banks and Bank Holidays Act 1912. In New South Wales, Australia, the following are the public holidays:

  • New Year’s Day: 1 January (observed Monday 2 January)
  • Australia Day: 26 January
  • Good Friday: 14 April
  • Easter Saturday: 15 April
  • Easter Sunday: 16 April
  • Easter Monday: 17 April
  • Anzac Day: 25 April
  • Queen’s Birthday: 12 June
  • Bank Holiday: 7 August
  • Labour Day: 2 October
  • Christmas Day: 25 December
  • Boxing Day: 26 December

Note that if a public holiday falls on a weekend, the following Monday is usually observed as a public holiday. See the National Day of Australia as well. The following are the regional public holidays:

  • January 2 : Additional Day of Public Holiday for New Year’s Day (Far West NSW only)
  • March 6 : Canberra Day (ACT only)
  • March 13 : Eight Hours Day (Tasmania only)
  • April 14 : Easter Saturday (part-day public holiday from 7pm to midnight for Hunter region)
  • August 4 : Bank Holiday (Northern NSW only)
  • August 21 : Picnic Day (Northern Territory only)
  • September 29 : AFL Grand Final Friday (part-day public holiday from 2:30pm to 7pm for Greater Sydney region only)


Note that these regional public holidays may only apply to certain industries or areas within the region. See also the Queensland Public Holidays as well as the Tasmania Public Holidays.

See also  Maundy Thursday



Incoming search terms: