National Day of Burundi

national dayThe National Day of Burundi is on the 1st July which is their Independence from Belgium in 1962. This celebrates the country’s independence from Belgium in 1962. (National Day of Belgium). It is a public holiday in Burundi, and many businesses and schools are closed.

National Day of Burundi

Likewise you will know that there was Belgian colonial rule from 1923 until 1962. It was during this period that the Belgians imposed their rule over the country and exploiting its resources and dividing its population along ethnic lines. Then came the 1950’s where political parties emerged who wanted independence. These parties were mainly led by the Hutu ethnic group, who felt marginalized and oppressed under the Tutsi-dominated monarchy.

However in 1961 the Belgians introduced a new constitution that provided for greater representation of the Hutu in government and dismantled some of the Tutsi-dominated institutions. This move was seen as a step towards independence. Then there was January 1962 when negotiations between the Belgian government, Burundian political parties, and the monarchy led to an agreement on the terms of independence. Finally on the 1st July 1962, Burundi officially became an independent nation.

Likewise see the Algeria National Day and the National Day of Alderney as well as the National Day of Cameroon.

Public Holidays on Burundi

Here are the public holidays in Burundi:

  • New Year’s Day – January 1st
  • Unity Day – February 5th
  • Good Friday – varies each year (March or April)
  • Easter Monday – varies each year (March or April)
  • Labor Day – May 1st
  • Ascension Day – varies each year (May or June)
  • Pentecost – varies each year (May or June)
  • Independence Day – July 1st
  • Assumption Day – August 15th
  • Republic Day – November 28th
  • Christmas Day – December 25th
  • Boxing Day – December 26th
See also  National Day of Singapore

Note that some of these holidays may be subject to change based on the lunar calendar. See also the public holiday in Tasmania as well as Bahrain public holidays and Western Australia public holidays.